Rugby League World Cup



Currently ranked #8

Memorable Moments

Match highlights from PNG v France at the Rugby League World Cup 2013, MS3 Craven Park, Hull, 27.10.13

French Rugby League can be traced back as far as 1934 when a French national side toured England, though they were on the receiving end of a loss, 32-21.

Les Tricolores have qualified for all 15 World Cups, and, despite never winning one competition, they have been runners-up twice – 1954 and 1968.

France’s biggest win is 120-0 against Serbia in October 2003, but despite qualifying for the Four Nations in 2009, the French came last with zero wins. They have, however, been two-time champions of the European Cup.

Despite being around for such a long time, Les Tricolores have never realised their potential– they have won just over 30% of international games they have played in with over 200 losses in under 350 games.

The French women’s side have qualified twice for the World Cup – their third will be in 2021 – and even made the semi-finals in 2013.

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo
This site is registered on as a development site.