2022 Southern Conference League details confirmed

20 Jan 22, 12:46PM 0 Comments

Written by Rugby Football League

Photo by AHP Photography

In what is set to be the strongest season yet, the 2022 Southern Conference League will commence on the weekend of Saturday 23rd April.

The 2022 season will see the return of top Welsh Club Torfaen Tigers, whilst three new clubs have been accepted into the competition: Brentwood Eels, Worcester Jaguars, and Bath Gladiators.

After a short stint in the Welsh Premier League, the Tigers return to the SCL with high hopes after their newly formed partnership with Talywain RFC, where they will now play their home games.

Bath Gladiators will hope to make their mark on the SCL after winning the West of England League Plate Final last year.

They will be joined by familiar faces at Worcester Jaguars who also competed in the West of England League, with club president Stuart Hood stating: “It’s an exciting time to enter the Southern Conference League with the growth of Rugby League in our region in this World Cup Year.

“Playing against some great sides who like Worcester Jaguars have ambitions to grow, thrive & push on to making the Southern Conference League a strong, competitive & successful league.”

2021 East Rugby League Champions Brentwood Eels will also be hunting SCL success, head coach Anthony Sherwood said: “As a club we have always placed the player at the heart of everything we do, and we have real pride in our ability to provide great opportunities and a pathway for these young athletes.

“Participation within the SCL now allows our players to pit themselves against the best amateur sides in the South of England. It will be great to see so many of our players who have worn the Eels shirt from a young age now take the field at this level.”

The addition of these new clubs means that there will be eight teams competing in the East Division and six teams competing in the West Division, with the top four from each progressing to the National Play Offs.

East Division

Bedford Tigers, Brentwood Eels, Eastern Rhinos, Hammersmith Hills Hoists, Hemel Stags, London Chargers, North Herts Crusaders and Wests Warriors

West Division

All Golds, Bath Gladiators, Devon Sharks, Swindon St George, Torfaen Tigers and Worcester Jaguars

A Grand Final on Saturday 17th September will bring the curtains down on what we expect to be an enthralling 2022 season.

Our League Active registration is now open for the 2022 season. Click here for details.

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo