Betfred Championship opening round fixtures

10 Jan 22, 9:31AM 0 Comments

Written by Rugby Football League

The Betfred Championship will now kick off with a Super Sunday in 2022, with six of the seven matches in the opening round to be played on Sunday January 30.

Leigh Centurions have been given permission to rearrange their home opener against Whitehaven, which had originally been scheduled as a stand-alone game on Saturday January 29, because of stadium availability.

That match will now kick off at 3pm the following day, one of five to do so – following the match between newly-promoted Workington Town and Newcastle Thunder, which will now be the first to get underway at 2pm.

The other four matches kicking off at 3pm include Barrow Raiders, the other team to earn promotion from Betfred League 1 last season, at home to Sheffield Eagles.

There will be two West Yorkshire derbies, with Batley Bulldogs facing Halifax Panthers, and Dewsbury Rams hosting Bradford Bulls, while London Broncos have attractive opposition from Widnes Vikings for their first game in the Cherry Red Records Stadium, the Plough Lane home of AFC Wimbledon which they are sharing in 2022.

The opening round will come to a climax with the first live Monday Night match live on Premier Sports, a repeat of last season’s AB Sundecks 1895 Cup Final as York City Knights face Featherstone Rovers at the LNER Community Stadium.

Betfred Championship, revised opening round fixtures:

Sunday January 30: Workington Town v Newcastle Thunder (2pm), Barrow Raiders v Sheffield Eagles (3pm), Batley Bulldogs v Halifax Panthers (3pm), Dewsbury Rams v Bradford Bulls (3pm), Leigh Centurions v Whitehaven (3pm), London Broncos v Widnes Vikings (3pm).

Monday January 31: York City Knights v Featherstone Rovers (745pm, live on Premier Sports)

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo