Media Release

Bourson, Clausells and Collins named Wheelchair Golden Boot nominees

23 Nov 21, 6:17PM 0 Comments

Written by International Rugby League

Photo by SWPix

Following the conclusion of the 2021 wheelchair rugby league season which saw five nations play eight senior international matches, International Rugby League (IRL) has announced the names of the players who will be added to the long-list of players to be considered for the 2022 Golden Boot.

The season saw a return to international matches after missing the whole of 2020 due to COVID-19. However, the Board of IRL, following advice from the Wheelchair Advisory Group, decided not to award the Golden Boot in 2021 as a large portion of the membership were unable to participate in qualifying games. The outstanding performances from this year will be added to the long-list and taken forward for consideration in the 2022 award.

The Golden Boot is awarded to the player adjudged to have put in the most outstanding performances in senior international matches in the period under consideration. The wheelchair award was first made in 2019 and England’s Jack Brown was the inaugural winner.

The panel has placed three players on the long-list and they are:

*Nicolas Clausells (France)

*Jeremy Bourson (France)

*Nathan Collins (England)

Nicolas Clausells noted the support of his teammates saying: “I am very happy to be nominated but it is mainly thanks to the support of my teammates. Together we can improve, and we now look forward to the World Cup”

Jeremy Bourson said: “To be nominated for the Wheelchair Golden Boot is just fantastic. After the many sacrifices that we all make including our families and friends, this award would be an added bonus in my career and gives me additional motivation in preparing for the World Cup.”

Nathan Collins commented: “I’m honoured to be on the long list of players for the Golden Boot in 2022, with some world class players, I’m looking forward to the 2022 season with loads more opportunities to get better and improve my game leading towards the World Cup at the end of 2022”

These players’ performances will be considered by the panel in 2022 alongside outstanding performers from next year. Players such as Martin Lane (Wales) who scored six tries against Ireland and Tom Halliwell (England) who similarly scored five tries against Wales can build upon these performances next season and be added to the list for consideration.

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo