World Cup

Brown to lead way for Italy at World Cup

01 Oct 22, 4:10AM 0 Comments

Written by Brad Walter / IRL

Photo by Getty Images

After being recalled from the wilderness to play in the NRL grand final for Parramatta, Nathan Brown now finds himself set to lead Italy into the World Cup.

Brown, who was unable to get a run in the Eels side for 12 months before his surprise call up for the premiership decider, is the most experienced player in the Italy squad announced on Friday.

The firebrand forward will be joined by Melbourne Storm playmaker Cooper Johns, the son of Matthew Johns, and a host of players from the lower tiers of the NRL and Super League or Jersey Flegg level.

Among them are Penrith prop Alec Susino, who helped the Panthers to victory over the Bulldogs in the NSW Cup grand final, Parramatta forwards Luca Moretti and Jack Colovatti, Cronulla centre Kyle Pickering and South Sydney five-eighth Jack Campagnolo.

Brown, who has played two Origins, is one of seven survivors from the 2017 World Cup campaign, which included James Tedesco, who is set to be the Australian captain, and his former NSW team-mates Paul Vaughan.

Campagnolo, Gieolo Celerino from French club Racing Saint Gaudens, Swinton Lions fullback Richard Lepori, London Broncos hooker Dean Parata and former Wests Tigers backrower Brandon Santi pare the others.

Italy will open their World Cup campaign against Scotland at Newcastle’s Kingston Park on October 16 before meeting Fiji at the same venue six days later and Australia at St Helens on October 29.

The team is coached by former Western Suburbs Magpies and Illawarra Steelers fullback Leo Epifania, with 2017 captain Terry Campese as his assistant. Wests Tigers boss Tim Sheens also has a role.

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo