12 Nov 19, 12:00AM 0 Comments

Written by RFL

Photo by RFL

On Saturday afternoon, after England Women and Great Britain Men have taken on the Orchids and Kumuls respectively, the England Community Lions Women and Men’s Under-23 teams will both be in action against Welsh opposition – with the games having been switched to Ruskin Drive in St Helens, the home of Pilkington Recs, as a precaution given the forecast of more wet weather later this week.

The Under-23s face the Wales Dragonhearts and will be in confident mood after winning their first fixture against Ireland in Dublin on Saturday, and have named an unchanged 18-man squad.

The Leigh Miners Rangers pair of Jack Reynolds and Liam Kenyon have been denied the chance of playing on home territory by the change of venue, but it does mean staying in St Helens for Marc Lomas of Thatto Heath!

After that, the England Community Lions Women will play their first ever game – and they have finalised a 19-player squad to face the recently-formed Wales Women team.

This squad also includes three representatives from Leigh Miners Rangers – Leanne Johnson, Celia Farrimond and captain Mairead Quinn.

There are four members of the Warrington Wolves team who won the Women’s Championship and have recently been promoted to next season’s Betfred Women’s Super League, as well as three members of the Barrow team they beat in the Grand Final in Manchester – plus Samantha Hulme, representing the Whitley Bay Barbarians.

England Community Lions Women (v Wales Women, 4pm)

1. Michelle Davis (Warrington Wolves)

2. Leanne Johnson (Leigh Miners Rangers)

3. Olivia Cummins (Huddersfield Giants)

4. Emma Templeton (Keighley Albion)

5. Charlize Magraw (Widnes Vikings)

6. Emily Stirzaker (Barrow Ladies)

18. Mairead Quinn (C) (Leigh Miners Rangers)

8. Keira McCosh (Warrington Wolves)

9. Isabel Bibby (Huddersfield Giants)

17. Rachael Barker (Stanningley SARLFC)

11. Rebeck Wilson (Warrington Wolves)

10. Sarina Tamou (Widnes Vikings)

12. Lauren Harvey (Cutsyke Raiders)

14. Danny Bound (Warrington Wolves)

15. Samantha Hulme (Whitley Bay Barbarians)

16. Celia Farrimond (Leigh Miners Rangers)

13. Paige Webster (West Leeds Eagles Ladies)

7. Leah Cottier (Barrow Ladies)

19. Jodie Crawford (Barrow Ladies)


Head Coach: Thomas Brindle

Assistant Coach: Glenn Swailes (East Leeds)

See & read more of the latest Here!

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo