Coral Challenge Cup Final classics back on BBC One this weekend

07 May 20, 1:10PM 0 Comments

Written by Rugby Football League

In the absence of live Rugby League this weekend, the BBC are delving into their archives again to show us highlights from five classic Coral Challenge Cup Finals.

The show – presented by Mark Chapman – will be aired at 2:05pm on Sunday on BBC One.

Here are the five to look forward to this time…

1973 | Featherstone v Bradford

In their third campaign under the legendary Peter Fox, Featherstone repeated the feat of six years earlier, beating Bradford Northern 33โ€“14 to clinch their second Challenge Cup crown. Cyril Kellett’s eight goals for Rovers in the game is a record only matched by Iestyn Harris for Leeds Rhinos against London Broncos in the 1999 final.

Attendance: 72,395

Lance Todd Trophy Winner: Steve Nash

1987 | Halifax v St Helens

The fifth and latest of Halifax’s Challenge Cup triumphs came in ’87 when they narrowly defeated Saints 19-18 at Wembley. It marked a glorious half-decade for the club, as ‘Fax climbed out of the Second Division, won the First Division championship, reached a Premiership final before winning the Challenge Cup, and were only denied back-to-back Wembley wins by the new force in the sport – Wigan – a year later.

Attendance: 91,267

Lance Todd Trophy Winner: Graham Eadie

1998 | Sheffield Eagles v Wigan Warriors

Widely regarded as the greatest upset in Challenge Cup history, Sheffield shocked the watching world in 1998 when they turned over the mighty Wigan 17-8. The Warriors lost just two league games out of 23 on their way to winning the inaugural Super League Grand Final that year while Sheffield struggled in mid-table, winning just eight of their league games. Nevertheless, the Eagles, led by then scrum-half and now coach Mark Aston, produced a Wembley masterclass to win their one and only Challenge Cup title to date.

Attendance: 60,669

Lance Todd Trophy Winner: Mark Aston

2005 | Hull FC v Leeds Rhinos

Despite going into the game very short-priced favourites with the bookmakers, Leeds fell to a gargantuan effort from Hull FC, as the Black and Whites triumphed 25-24 at Cardiff’s Millenium Stadium. In a topsy-turvy final, both sides led before Hull-born Paul Cooke’s late try – converted by a young Danny Brough – ensured Hull would take home their first Challenge Cup trophy since 1982. Leeds’ Kevin Sinfield was voted the winner of the Lance Todd Trophy despite finishing on the losing side – joining a select group of three others (Frank Whitcombe, Robbie Paul and Gary Connolly) to have achieved the feat.

Attendance: 74,213

Lance Todd Trophy Winner: Kevin Sinfield

2011 | Leeds Rhinos v Wigan Warriors

Wigan continued their Wembley dominance over the Rhinos in 2011, with the Warriors triumphing over their Yorkshire rivals for the third time in a 28-18 victory. Wigan prop forward Jeff Lima, who scored two tries in the final, became just the fifth New Zealander (and first prop forward since 1980) to win the award, as Pat Richards added four goals to ensure the Warriors would clinch their record 18th Challenge Cup title.

Attendance: 78,482

Lance Todd Trophy Winner: Jeff Lima

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo