Coral Challenge Cup Sixth Round draw moved to UK

14 Mar 20, 11:07PM 0 Comments

Written by Rugby Football League

Monday’s draw for the Sixth Round of the Coral Challenge Cup will now be held in the UK.

Officials from the RFL and New York Rugby League decided in the last 24 hours not to proceed with plans to hold the draw in New York. The draw will instead be held at MediaCity in Salford, and will be broadcast on BBC Sport Online and Our League at the advertised time of 6pm.

Negotiations are at an advanced stage for New York Rugby League to enter the game’s oldest knock-out competition in 2021, which is why plans were made some time ago for the city to host the draw. It is likely that a New York draw will be held in the future, probably in 2021.

The Sixth Round marks the entry of eight Super League heavyweights into the cup, including the 2019 winners Warrington Wolves – each needing only three wins to secure their place in the final at Wembley, which will this year be played on an earlier date of Saturday 18 July.

Already in the hat following Fifth Round victories are Featherstone Rovers, Toronto Wolfpack and Wakefield Trinity. Five games are scheduled for tomorrow (Sunday 15 March), including Newcastle Thunder’s home tie against Dewsbury Rams which will be shown live on BBC Sport at 3pm. The other Sunday ties are Hull KR v Leigh Centurions, Sheffield Eagles v Workington Town, Widnes Vikings v Swinton Lions and York City Knights v Rochdale Hornets, with the latter being played at Featherstone Rovers’ Millenium Stadium.

Monday’s draw will include the eight Fifth Round winners, plus Castleford Tigers, Catalans Dragons, Hull FC, Leeds Rhinos, Salford Red Devils, St Helens, Warrington Wolves and Wigan Warriors.

Round Six ties are scheduled for the weekend of 4/5 April, although this is subject to change.

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo