Details confirmed for 2020 Coral Challenge Cup

29 Jul 20, 12:20PM 0 Comments

Written by Rugby Football League

The draws for the Sixth Round and Quarter Finals of the 2020 Coral Challenge Cup will take place at 6:30pm on Wednesday July 29.

Following this morning’s announcement that this year’s iteration of the competition will be reworked following withdrawals on account of the Coronavirus pandemic, it has now been agreed that both draws will take place at Media City, Manchester, hosted by the BBC’s Dave Woods, with St Helens and Great Britain legend Paul Sculthorpe MBE drawing the all-important numbers.

He will draw both the home and away teams, given the current public health advice.

Both draws will be covered live on the Our League app and website, as well as via the BBC Sport Website via text commentary.

Four of the 10 teams will be drawn out at random to take part in the two Sixth Round clashes, whilst the remaining six sides will receive a bye to the quarter finals.

Those six teams will remain in the hat for the Quarter Final draw, which will follow immediately, with numbers 11 and 12 added to represent the winners of the two sixth round ties.

Ball numbers for Sixth Round and Quarter Finals

1- Castleford Tigers

2- Catalans Dragons

3- Hull FC

4- Hull Kingston Rovers

5- Leeds Rhinos

6- Salford Red Devils

7- St Helens

8- Wakefield Trinity

9- Warrington Wolves (holders)

10- Wigan Warriors

11- Winner of Sixth Round Tie 1

12- Winner of Sixth Round Tie 2

The two Sixth Round ties will be played at the John Smith’s Stadium in Huddersfield on Saturday August 22 – with both shown live on the BBC.

The Quarter Finals will take place on the weekend of September 18-20, to be televised by the BBC and Sky Sports.

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo