Dewsbury Moor Ladies win inaugural Women’s League Cup

12 Aug 21, 9:01AM 0 Comments

Written by Rugby Football League

Dewsbury Moor Ladies won the inaugural Women’s League Cup Final 24-8 against Wigan St Patricks on Sunday in a contest which underlined the growing depth in the Women’s and Girls’ game.

With more teams and players than ever, despite the loss of the entire 2020 season to Covid-19, the Women’s League Cup has been arranged for the senior women’s teams not involved in the Betfred Women’s Super League or the Championship.

Dewsbury Moor Ladies are currently top of League 1 with six wins out of six, while St Pats are one of three teams in a new League 2.

So even with a youthful team of girls who had progressed from their junior section, the Yorkshire club were favourites – and they justified that with a display of flowing rugby despite unseasonally wet and windy conditions.

They led 12-0 at half-time after Reanne Harrison laid on an opening try for Ebony Briggs, then centre Gabrielle Akaidere showed lightning speed to finish from 40 metres after great hands from Nancy Hirst and Courtney Gooch.

Hirst then laid on a try for Millie Padgett with a kick, and Harrison showed great determination to slide through a tiring St Pats defence for a fourth Moor score.

St Pats finally gained due reward for their wholehearted efforts in the 62nd minute when Jordan Whittle barged her way over the line after good work by Sarah Harrison. However five minutes later Courtney Marsh replied with a wonderful try from 40 metres to score, although even then the Wiganers responded when Sarah Harrison turned provider for Chelsea Newton to score the final points of the day.

Moor’s hooker Lacie Brunies was named player of the match after an industrious performance in the middle of the park, with Olivia Richards – the niece of England Women’s Head Coach Craig Richards – also impressing.

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo