Fittler’s case for Immortal status

22 Sep 21, 9:13AM 0 Comments

Written by Oliver Kellner-Dunk

Photo by Getty Images

Throughout a 336 game NRL career, Brad Fittler’s accolades were plentiful.

There is one accolade the Panthers and Roosters legend has not yet received to this point, and that is being named as a Rugby League Immortal.

Fittler would make his debut at just 17-years-old in 1989 for the Penrith Panthers and just two years later was apart of the club’s premiership winning season in 1991.

11 years later he would win his second premiership, this time for the Sydney Roosters and did so as the club’s captain.

Brad Fittler Roosters

At the age of 18 and in only his second year of first grade, the half would make his New South Wales and Australian debut.

Fittler would appear for the Blues on 31 occasions which included multiple series wins, three of which came under his captaincy.

In his 38 Tests for Australia, Fittler was captain for 25 matches which included a Rugby League World Cup victory in 2000 and he had a 84.21% win rate with the Kangaroos.

In both 1992 and 1993 Fittler was named the Dally M Centre of the Year, he won the Dally M Lock of the Year in 1994 and the Dally M Five-Eighth of the Year in 1998, 1999 and 2002, resulting in a total of six career positional awards.

Brad Fittler NSW

1997 was a significant year for Freddy as he received the Provan Summons Medal and was named the Rugby League Week Player of the Year.

Other honours include the Dally M Captain of the Year award in 1999, the Golden Boot in 2000 for his efforts in the World Cup.

He was also inducted into the National Rugby League Hall of Fame in 2008.

If a career like Brad Fittler’s isn’t worthy of Immortal status then what is?

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo