Our News

Fox Sports acquire the rights to the World Cup

30 Jul 22, 7:59AM 0 Comments

Written by Oliver Kellner-Dunk

Photo by Getty Images

We are once again in a Rugby League World Cup year where the game’s best nations will converge in host nation England for what may be the closest tournament yet.

Back-to-back champions Australia will once again be the favourites heading into the World Cup and if they don’t win a third straight tournament then they will likely be beaten by the eventual victors.

New Zealand and England as always are going to be contenders but the likes of Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Tonga and Samoa have come so far in the past five years.

All of these nations must be considered a chance at winning the closest Rugby League World Cup yet.

Fox Sports have announced that they had acquired the rights to the tournament with Fox Sports Executive Director Steve Crawley displaying his excitement in a statement put out by the network.

“Fox League and Kayo Sports are flying this season and to now add the Rugby League World Cup is something to bang the drums about,” said Crawley.

“All exclusive rights across the 61 matches of men’s, women’s and wheelchair footy very much celebrates the best of the best — on the true homes of Rugby League.”

International Rugby League’s Chief Executive Officer John Dutton also commented on the deal when speaking to Fox Sports.

“We know that RLWC2021 is going to be the most watched World Cup and it is very pleasing it will be broadcast in Australia on Fox Sports, keeping the rights within the NRL family and with a network that Australian audiences are comfortable and familiar with,” said Dutton.

“This is a great outcome for International Rugby League and Australian fans.”

On the 15th of October, the men’s tournament will kick off the World Cup with hosts England taking on Jarome Luai and Samoa.

We then get to see England take on Brazil on the 1st of November to commence the Women’s World Cup before Spain takes on Ireland two days later to start the wheelchair tournament.

The wheelchair final will then take place on the 18th of November with the Women’s and Men’s finals the night after.

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo