Greg Inglis’ case for Immortal status

29 Oct 22, 1:39PM 0 Comments

Written by Oliver Kellner-Dunk

Photo by Getty Images

Greg Inglis consistently played at an elite level throughout the majority of his career achieving many things but there is one accolade that still eludes him.

The 35-year-old’s playing days may be over but the possibility of being crowned a Rugby League Immortal is still there as Inglis has done just about everything there is to do in our game.

In 2005 a young and versatile Inglis burst onto the scene at the Melbourne Storm and his impact in the NRL was soon made apparent as during the following season he made his Queensland State of Origin and Australian International debuts as well as playing in his first Grand Final, all at the age of 19.

He would go on to play in a further three Grand Finals for the Storm, winning two and receiving the Clive Churchill medal for best and fairest in the 2007 Grand Final.

After a successful period at the Storm Inglis moved to the South Sydney Rabbitohs in 2011 where he would bulk up and become one of his generation’s best fullbacks the year after.

The Kempsey native then helped lead the Rabbitohs to their first premiership after a 43-year drought in 2014 before leaving the club in 2019 and having a short stint at the Warrington Wolves in 2021.

During his playing days Inglis was the recipient of many club-level awards.

He was named the RLIF’s Rookie of the Year in 2006 before being named the Dally M Five-eighth of the Year in 2008, the Dally M Fullback of the Year in 2013 and the Provan Summons Medallist in 2013.

Inglis would score 18 tries for Queensland in 32 games and win ten Origin series with the state as well as a Rugby League World Cup with Australia in 2013.

The former Norths Devil was also rewarded for his efforts at the representative level becoming the recipient of the Wally Lewis Medal and Golden Boot Award in 2009 and was named the Dally M Representative Player of the Year in 2008 and 2009.

Greg Inglis will always be remembered as someone who inspired many of today’s players to take up our game and could one day also be remembered as an Immortal.

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo