Media Release

International Rugby League Golden Boot candidates announced

13 Nov 22, 7:05AM 0 Comments

Written by International Rugby League

Photo by Getty Images

Golden Cap recipients Cameron Smith, James Graham and Ruben Wiki will help select the winner of the 2022 Men’s IRL Golden Boot to be awarded to the international player of the year ahead of the upcoming World Cup final at Old Trafford.

Another Golden Cap recipient, Adrian Morley, who – along with Smith (Australia), Graham (England/Great Britain) and Wiki (New Zealand) – is among nine players to have played 50 or more Tests, will present the Men’s Golden Boot to the winner.

The IRL Women’s and Wheelchair Golden Boot trophies will also be presented at The Midland Hotel in Manchester on Tuesday, November 15.

Long serving RFL executive Karen Moorhouse, who is on the board of RLWC2021, and Wheelchair Rugby League pioneer, Malcolm Kielty, MBE, will join Morley in presenting the awards.

The Golden Boot is one of the longest running and most prestigious individual awards in the game, and is awarded to the best international player in the world each year – although there has been a two year hiatus due to COVID.

Smith is a three times Golden Boot winner, receiving the award as the world’s best player in 2007, 2010 and 2017.

The most recent winners in 2019 were former Kiwis captain Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Jillaroos centre Jessica Sergis and England Wheelchair star Jack Brown.

A panel of leading journalists and commentators from Australia, England and New Zealand has been considering the best players throughout the World Cup and a Men’s Golden Boot long list was finalised after the pool matches.

The long list includes Josh Addo-Carr (Australia), Tom Burgess (England), Ben Garcia (France), Harry Grant (Australia), Jahrome Hughes (New Zealand), Edwin Ipape (Papua New Guinea), Keaon Koloamatangi (Tonga), Jarome Luai (Samoa), Joey Manu (New Zealand), Mitchell Moses (Lebanon), Cameron Munster (Australia), Victor Radley (England), Joran Schoenmaker (Netherlands), Brandon Smith (New Zealand), Jaydn Su’A (Samoa), Joseph Sua’ali’i (Samoa), Brian To’o (Samoa), Sunia Turuva (Fiji) and George Williams (England).

Schoenmaker has been recognised for his performances for the Netherlands in 2020 and 2021 when few other nations played international fixtures.

Smith, Graham and Wiki, who are all former Test captains, will help select the Men’s Golden Boot winner after this weekend’s semi-finals between Australia and New Zealand at Elland Road, Leeds and England and Samoa at Emirates Stadium, London.

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo