Joel Tomkins announces retirement from Rugby League

20 Nov 21, 10:10AM 0 Comments

Written by Rugby Football League

Joel Tomkins has confirmed his retirement from Rugby League with immediate effect.

His retirement means his final appearance came in the 2021 Betfred Super League Grand Final as Catalans Dragons made their debut at the showpiece event falling to defeat against St Helens.

Tomkins previously won every honour with Wigan Warriors across two spells with the club totalling 12 seasons. The back-rower twice lifted the Super League whilst also winning the League Leaders’ Shield, World Club Challenge and Challenge Cup scoring a famous Wembley try on route to lifting the latter.

The 34-year-old has since gone on to represent Hull Kingston Rovers and Catalans Dragons. Between 2010 and 2014, Tomkins made six appearances for England, scoring twice.

Tomkins was set for a move to Betfred Championship side Leigh Centurions ahead of the 2022 season.

On the decision, Tomkins said: “I thank Leigh for their understanding of my situation.

“Professional Rugby has been a priority in my life for the last 17 years and now, at 34, it feels right to retire.

“It has been a great way to earn a living and I have some great memories and have made some great friend at the few different clubs I have represented over the years.

“I wish them every success for the future. I wanted to do the right thing by the club, and they respect that.”

Leigh Centurions Head of Rugby, Chris Chester, added: “We’re obviously disappointed that Joel is not joining us, but we fully support his decision.

“Joel’s had a great, great career and he’s a person I’ve a huge amount of respect for. He always comes across as humble and we’ll miss his leadership which was one of the biggest reasons we recruited him. We all wish him well in his future endeavours.”

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo