Leeds continue perfect Betfred Women’s Super League start

05 Jul 21, 10:45AM 0 Comments

Written by Rugby Football League

Leeds scored 12 tries as the Betfred Women’s Super League leaders maintained their 100 per cent start to the season with a 56-0 win over Warrington at the Mobile Rocket Stadium.

Winger Tara Moxon registered four of those and Fran Goldthorp added two late on, while skipper Courtney Winfield-Hill kicked four conversions.

Hanna Butcher was the first to cross in the fifth minute, followed by debutant Eloise Hayward and then Moxon.

Keara Bennett scored the fourth try in the 21st minute before a double from Moxon gave her a hat-trick and saw Leeds head in 28-0 up at the break.

Orla McCallion, Caitlin Beevers, Moxon and Aimee Staveley added efforts after the interval, with Goldthorp then rounding things off with a brace as the reigning champions made it five wins out of five this term.

That is also the record for second-placed Wigan, who won 36-10 at Featherstone.

Alison Burrows, Leah Darbyshire, Amy Boardman, Anna Mary Davies and Paige Costello each scored tries en route to Wigan leading 24-6 at half-time.

Davies added a second after the break, while Rachel Thompson and Emily Baggaley also went over.

Meanwhile, Wakefield remain without a point after losing 40-14 against Huddersfield in the second game of a double header at the Mobile Rocket Stadium.

Wakefield led three times in the first half, via a Brooke Price try and then two from Liv Whitehead, but were 18-14 down at the interval, with Isabel Northrop, Amelia Brown and Emmi Manning crossing for Huddersfield.

Huddersfield then pulled away in the second half, which included Brown completing a hat-trick.

York City Knights were awarded a 24-0 victory after Bradford Bulls were unable to field a team.

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo