Oldham reveal squad numbers for 2021

03 Mar 21, 6:27AM 0 Comments

Written by Rugby Football League

Oldham have revealed their squad numbers ahead of the 2021 Betfred Championship season.

Roughyeds boss Matt Diskin has named 14 new signings in his first 17 but feels supporters shouldn’t read too much into the numbers.

Diskin said: “On the one hand they are important to the players; on the other, fans might easily read too much into them. No player can feel secure on his number alone.”

One example Diskin provided was that of his left centre and wing combination who he feels will chop and change throughout the season.

Diskin commented: “Their squad numbers don’t necessarily mean Ryan [Ince] will always be on the wing, with Cam [Leeming] on his inside. I’ll be swapping them around on occasions.

“Ryan has been doing a lot of his pre-season stuff in the centre and Cam has caught the eye with his ability to return the ball strongly out of defence to put his back on the front foot.

“We have a competitive squad, so every player will be challenging for his spot every week.

“We wanted some consistency in the numbering, too, so that was another factor in it, as was a request from some players to keep the same number they had last season.”

Oldham’s full squad numbers:

1. Dan Abram
2. Tommy Brierley
3. Ben Heaton
4. Cam Leeming
5. Ryan Ince
6. Lewis Charnock
7. Dave Hewitt
8. Phil Joy
9. Gareth Owen
10. Jack Spencer
11. Danny Langtree
12. Liam Bent
13. Martyn Reilly
14. Matty Wilkinson
15. Luke Nelmes
16. Tyler Dupree
17. Liam Kirk
18. Oldham Fans
19. Matthew Fletcher
20. Jode Sheriffe
21. Shaun Pick
22. Kyran Johnson
23. Callum Green
24. Max Roberts
25. Danny Bridge
26. James Barran
27. Ben Holcroft
28. Joe Hartley
30. Dec Gregory
31. John Hutchings

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo