Super League

Wigan v Castleford

29 Aug 20 0 Comments

Written by Callum Walker

Photo by Getty Images

Saturday 29th August, 16:15, Super League Round 10, Halliwell Jones Stadium, Warrington, Wigan Warriors versus Castleford Tigers Superleague Match Fixture

It was originally Wigan against Catalans Dragons, but the positive COVID-19 testing of three Dragons players meant the French club would sit out this weekend with Castleford – who originally had a bye – now Wigan’s opponents. Before lockdown and Toronto’s demise, these two sides were first and second in Super League.

Two wins for Wigan and two losses for the Tigers – as well as the removal of two points for the win against Toronto – means the Warriors continue to sit atop with Castleford now down in seventh.

Wigan Warriors

21 Man Squad
Jake Bibby Amir Bourouh
Joe Bullock George Burgess
Liam Byrne Liam Farrell
Ben Flower Bevan French
Joe Greenwood Chris Hankinson
Zak Hardaker Jackson Hastings
Joseph Havard Willie Isa
Thomas Leuluai Dom Manfredi
Liam Marshall Sam Powell
Joseph Shorrocks Harry Smith
Morgan Smithies

Coach: Adrian Lam

Castleford Tigers

21 Man Squad
James Clare Alex Foster
George Griffin Tyler Hepi
Oliver Holmes Nathan Massey
Mike McMeeken Paul McShane
Grant Millington Adam Milner
Junior Moors Gareth O’Brien
Jacques O’Neill Derrell Olpherts
Danny Richardson Jesse Sene-Lefao
Michael Shenton Daniel Smith
Jacob Trueman Calum Turner
Liam Watts

Coach: Daryl Powell


Castleford ran out 16-12 winners in a tight affair back in February, but the Warriors had triumphed in four out of five games prior to that defeat.


With the Tigers having just three days’ notice, it’s hardly the best preparation. But, with the West Yorkshire side not exactly breaking any pots since the Super League resumption, more preparation likely wouldn’t have mattered anyway. Wigan to win by at least 10.

Be the first to comment on this preview

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo