Super League

Wigan v St Helens

29 Sep 20 0 Comments

Written by Callum Walker

Photo by Getty Images

Tuesday 29th September, 19:45, Super League Round 14, AJ Bell Stadium, Salford, Wigan Warriors versus St Helens Match Preview

It was supposed to be the first game played at the DW Stadium and in front of fans, but this fixture has since been moved to Salford’s home. That shouldn’t make it any less spicy though with both sides fighting for a top four place. Saints have won all six of their league games since the resumption with the Warriors winning five. That has left Wigan occupying second and Saints third.

Wigan Warriors

Wigan boss Adrian Lam has made ten changes as the Warriors look forward to a cup semi-final appearance at the weekend. Youngsters Umyla Hanley, Kai Pearce-Paul, Ben Kilner and Sam Halsall make the 21-man squad for the first time with Dom Manfredi, Joe Bullock and Jake Shorrocks all returning from injury.

21 Man Squad
Jake Bibby Amir Bourouh
Joe Bullock Liam Byrne
Mitch Clark Ben Flower
Joe Greenwood Samuel Halsall
Chris Hankinson Umyla Hanley
Jackson Hastings Willie Isa
Ben Kilner Dom Manfredi
James McDonnell Kai Pearce-Paul
Sam Powell Jake Shorrocks
Harry Smith Jack Wells

Coach: Adrian Lam

St Helens

Matty Costello replaces the injured Mark Percival as Jack Ashworth sits out with Joe Batchelor coming in. Jack Welsby retains his place despite leaving the field with a head assessment at the weekend.

21 Man Squad
Kyle Amor Joe Batchelor
James Bentley Lachlan Coote
Matthew Costello Lewis Dodd
Theo Fages Regan Grace
James Graham Morgan Knowles
Matthew Lees Jonny Lomax
Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook Kevin Naiqama
Dominique Peyroux James Roby
Josh Simm Aaron Smith
Zeb Taia Alex Walmsley
Jack Welsby

Coach: Kristian Woolf


St Helens ran out 40-10 winners in September last year which extended their winning run to four over the Warriors.


St Helens by 16

Be the first to comment on this preview

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo