Super League

Wigan v Wakefield

25 Sep 20 0 Comments

Written by Callum Walker

Photo by Getty Images

Friday 25th September, 20:15, Super League Round 13, Halliwell Jones Stadium, Warrington, Wigan Warriors versus Wakefield Trinity Match Preview

Wigan has won five of their last six games after lockdown, including an impressive 36-4 hammering of Hull FC in the quarter-final of the Challenge Cup most recently. The Warriors also sit comfortably inside the top four in third place. Wakefield, on the other hand, hasn’t won in the league since March – a seven-game losing run – and, as a result, occupy a bottom place on the ladder.

Wigan Warriors

Wigan boss Adrian Lam makes three changes to his 21-man squad with Ben Flower, Liam Byrne and Chris Hankinson replacing Mitch Clark, Dom Manfredi and Harry Rushton.

21 Man Squad
Jake Bibby Harry Smith
Ben Flower Jack Wells
Oliver Partington Liam Farrell
Ben Flower Bevan French
Joe Greenwood Chris Hankinson
Zak Hardaker Jackson Hastings
Joseph Havard Willie Isa
Thomas Leuluai Liam Byrne
Liam Marshall Sam Powell
Joseph Shorrocks Harry Smith
Morgan Smithies

Coach: Adrian Lam

Wakefield Trinity

It’s all change for Chris Chester and Wakefield with Alex Walker, Tom Johnstone, Jacob Miller, David Fifita, Tinirau Arona, Matty Ashurst, Chris Green and Brad Walker all coming into the 21-man squad.

21 Man Squad
Alex Walker Connor Bailey
Tom Johnstone Eddie Battye
David Fifita Jordan Crowther
Tony Gigot Jacob Miller
Ben Jones-Bishop Tinirau Arona
Chris Green Craig Kopczak
Reece Lyne Romain Navarrete
Jay Pitts Adam Tangata
Kelepi Tanginoa Bill Tupou
Joe Westerman Kyle Wood
Matty Ashurst

Coach: Chris Chester


Trinity were mightily unlucky in the last meeting between the two sides when Harry Smith’s drop-goal proved the difference as Wigan ran out 23-22 winners in August. That extended the Warriors’ winning run over Wakefield to three games.


Wigan Warriors by 10

Be the first to comment on this preview

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo