Ravoravo Rabbitohs chase history in Melanesian Club Championship

09 Feb 20, 2:44PM 0 Comments

Written by RLIF

The Ravoravo Rabbitohs will be looking to become the first Fijian team to win the Melanesian Club Championship when they host the Lae Tigers later this month in Lautoka.

First introduced in late 2015, the Melanesian Club Championship has been dominated by the Papua New Guinea teams which has seen the Fiji National Rugby League (FNRL) alternate between sending their top club and district representative teams.

After two attempts by the Nadi Aviators district representative team to win the Club Challenge Cup, it will be the 2019 Vodafone Cup Challenge winners turn as they take on a Lae Tigers team keen to collect their third Melanesian title. The Lae Tigers featured in both the 2017 and 2018 tournaments after winning the 2016 and 2017 Digicel Cup competitions and will go into the match as favourites, despite the Rabbitohs boasting nine players from the Kaiviti Silktails in their squad.

The representatives from the Silktails will be Tikiko Noke, Waisea Nasekai, Timoci Namotokula, Simon Wise, Maika Serulevu and Iliame Susu, all who will be looking to not only secure victory for the Rabbitohs, but also secure their spot in the Ron Massey Cup team.

The 2020 Melanesian Club Championship will take place at Churchill Park in Lautoka on February 29th. The Ravoravo Rabbitohs qualified for the Melanesian Club Championship after defeating the Army Bears 22 – 10 in the Fiji Vodafone Club Challenge Grand Final, whilst the Lae Tigers defeated the Hela Wigmen 15 – 4 in the PNG Digicel Cup Final.

Past Results:

2018: Lae Tigers 38 defeated Nadi Aviators 22 – National Football Stadium, Port Moresby
2017: Lae Tigers 40 defeated Nadi Aviators 4 – Lawaqa Park, Sigatoka
2015: Rabaul Gurias 40 defeated Sabeto Roosters 2 – Sir John Guise Stadium, Port Moresby

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo