Saints and Leeds to meet in Betfred Women’s Super League Grand Final

27 Sep 21, 9:37AM 0 Comments

Written by Rugby Football League

St Helens Women stayed on course for a trophy treble with a thumping win over Castleford to reach their first Women’s Grand Final.

Saints have already lifted the Women’s Challenge Cup and the League Leaders’ Shield and, on the basis of their 58-0 victory on Sunday, they will take some stopping.

Carrie Roberts scored the first of Saints’ 12 tries in just the second minute, and they kept up a relentless pace during the contest.

Paige Travis crossed in the 13th minute, Tara Jones in the 17th, Jodie Cunningham the 20th and Leah Burke the 24th, with Cunningham and Chantelle Crowl adding further scores before half-time.

Castleford had a good spell after the break but were unable to make it count and Saints soon extended their lead.

Jones, Travis and Burke all grabbed their second tries, with the scoring finished off by Rachael Woosey and Burke’s hat-trick. Zoe Harris converted five of her seven attempts.

In the final at Headingley on October 9, Saints will take on defending champions Leeds Rhinos, who won a much tighter contest against York City Knights 22-18.

The Knights took the lead in the fourth minute with a try from Olivia Wood and they were 10-0 ahead after 13 minutes as Emma Hardy crossed.

Tasha Gaines got Leeds on the board with a try in the corner but Kelsey Gentles grabbed a third for the Knights to make it 14-4 at half-time.

A brilliant solo effort from Courtney Winfield-Hill began the Rhinos’ fightback and Sophie Nuttall’s try levelled proceedings.

Nuttall then put her team in front for the first time with 17 minutes remaining – Winfield-Hill converting. Hardy reduced the deficit to two points almost immediately but a penalty from Winfield-Hill was the final score.

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo