Media Release

Scotland Bravehearts name squad for Jamaica Reggae Warriors clash

29 Sep 21, 10:34AM 0 Comments

Written by Scotland Rugby League

Photo by Getty Images

Scotland Head Coach Nathan Graham has announced an extended squad ahead of October’s clash with Jamaica.

The Bravehearts are set to face the Reggae Warriors for the first time, with Graham announcing an initial extended squad before making his final selections. The squad contains a blend of experienced international players and first time squad members, who will all be hoping to break into the team and earn their first Scotland caps.

The match will be the senior side’s first game since beating Greece 42-24 in 2019. The fixture, organised after the postponement of the 2021 Rugby League World Cup, will be a chance for the team to prepare themselves after a prolonged spell on the sidelines.

The squad will be meeting for their training camp in Dewsbury, and Head Coach Graham, himself a Braveheart, is raring to get started:

“I’m really looking forward to kicking off our sessions in a couple of weeks time. It’s been a long time in the waiting. We have announced an extended squad that is a mix of experienced campaigners and some new guys.

“We’ll look at how everyone performs and finalise a 20 man squad for a 4 day camp before the game. I’m looking for the young guys to be really competitive in training and push themselves with a view to being in the twenty.

“Jamaica are in the same place as we are in terms of fixtures being few and far between recently and I’m sure they will be wanting to get a result out of their games this autumn. It’s going to be a good test for our guys and I know they will be looking forward to the challenge.”

Extended Squad:

Connor Terrill – Barrow Raiders
Shane Toal – Barrow Raiders
Charlie Emslie – Barrow Raiders
Kieran Buchanan – Batley Bulldogs
David Scott – Coventry Bears
Davey Dixon – Dewsbury Rams
Will Oakes – Dewsbury Rams
Lewis Clarke – Edinburgh Eagles
Matt Hogg – Edinburgh Eagles
Niall Hall – Edinburgh Eagles
Dale Ferguson – Featherstone Rovers
Ben Kavanagh – Halifax RLFC
Kane Linnett – Hull KR
Lachlan Coote – Hull KR
Joe McLean – Hunslet RLFC
Kieran Moran – Keighley Cougars
Ben Hellewell – Leigh Centurions
Matty Russell – Leigh Centurions
Rob Oakley – London Broncos
Ryan Brierley – Salford Red Devils
Danny Addy – Salford Red Devils
Sam Luckley – Salford Red Devils
James Bell – St Helens
Murray Mitchell – Strathmore Silverbacks
Sam Brooks – Swinton Lions
Liam Hood – Wakefield Trinity
Alex Walker – Wakefield Trinity
Sam Herron – West Wales Raiders
Callum Phillips – Whitehaven RLFC
Lachlan Walmsley – Whitehaven RLFC
Guy Graham – Whitehaven RLFC
Oscar Thomas – Whitehaven RLFC
Jack Teanby – York City Knights​

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo