Media Release

Serbia & Russia set for historic Rugby League Euro B clash

03 Oct 21, 10:44AM 0 Comments

Serbia and Russia meet for the ninth time to open Euro Championship B on Sunday, the opposition both nations have played the most in their history.

Russia lead the series of matches – which began with a World Cup qualifying game in FK Radnički Beograd, Belgrade in 2006 – by 7-1, but Serbia are confident that they can replicate their sole victory to date, a 20-15 home win in Euro B in 2015.

The venue of this latest clash has great significance for Serbian Rugby League, taking place at the City of Paracin Stadium, 150km from Belgrade. The first-ever domestic rugby league fixture in the country was played there on 25 April, 1954 when Partizan Belgrade defeated Radnicki Belgrade 21-11, which saw Rugby League Club Tzar Dusan the Mighty formed in the city.

Russia are also celebrating the formation of the sport in the country almost exactly 30 years ago, their first official game as the then USSR against France in Avignon on 27 October, 1991, the hosts winning 26-6 in a match broadcast on Screen Sport.

Serbia’s new head coach, Darren Fisher, said: “We are all looking forward to Sunday and it’s evident in our camp. It’s been a while since we had chance to feel this atmosphere of being together as a nation again and it’s exciting to be back. Russia, as always, will be tough opposition and our focus is being competitive and competent throughout.”

Russia player/head coach Roman Ovchinnikov, whose squad arrived in Belgrade at midnight on Friday, commented: “It’s great that we can play international rugby league again. There are a lot of people to thank within our organization to get the side up and running once more and us here for this tournament. I’m sure it will be an excellent game between traditional rivals, the show must go on!”


Stefan Simovic (RLC Dorcol Tigers), Aleksandar Pavlovic, Djordje Krnjeta, Dragan Jankovic, Dzavid Jasari, Enis Bibic, Stevan Stevanovic, Vladimir Milutinovic (RLC Partizan 1953), Lazar Zivkovic, Mihajlo Jovic, Stefan Arsic (RLC Radnicki Nis), Aleksandar Djordjevic, Milos Calic, Miodrag Tomic, Nikola Djuric, Rajko Trifunovic, Stefan Nedeljkovic, Vladislav Dedic, Vojislav Dedic (RLC Red Star)


Ilia Danilov (RC Dinamo), Artem Egorov, Roman Ovchinnikov, Sergei Sazonov, Pavel Smirnov, Dmitrii Strukov, Ivan Suracov, Ivan Troitskii, Artem Tiutrin, Ivan Vabishchevich, Andrei Zdobnikov (RLC Locomotive), Egor Petukhov (RC Moscow Dragons), Vadim Buriak, Igor Chuprin, Anton Matiushkin, Zakir Prizniakov (RLC Olimp), Andrey Perin (RC Spartak), Kirill Bozhko, Maxim Martynov (RC Zelenograd)

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo