Should State of Origin go ahead in 2020?

02 Apr 20, 12:00PM 0 Comments

Written by Oliver Kellner-Dunk

Photo by Getty Images

The Covid-19 pandemic is certainly impacting the world with Rugby League also been affected on a large scale.

All Australian and English leagues at all levels have either been suspended or cancelled, and International matches either being rescheduled or no longer going ahead.

However there is still one competition yet to be officially cancelled or postponed and that is State if Origin.

At this point in time the three Origin games are scheduled for the 3rd of June, 21st if June and the 8th of July but realistically these dates will have to change if we are to have a State of Origin series in 2020.

From all reports the NRL will return at earliest on the 1st of June, not leaving nearly enough time for selection committees to scout and fairly select players for the first game.

If there is to be a three game State of Origin series this season it will have to take place later in the year, preferably in October.

The latest possible return date for the competition is the 1st of September meaning that no matter when the NRL returns there will be at least a handful of games played by October so selectors will be able to properly assess who deserves to play for their state.

The only problem with this is that there would likely be no bye rounds for teams during Origin week with many players likely seeing this as an issue.

The easiest decision would be to cancel State of Origin in 2020, while this would be unpopular amongst fans it would allow the reinstated season to run its course without interruption and prevent conflict between the league and players.

Unfortunately we may have to accept the possibility of an NRL season without State of Origin.

Should State of Origin go ahead in 2020?
10 answers

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo