Our News

The 2020 World Club Challenge: Everything you need to know

09 Feb 20, 2:25PM 0 Comments

Written by Oliver Kellner-Dunk

Photo by Sydney Roosters

On Saturday the 22nd of February 2020 at 7:45PM local time (Sunday 23rd Feb 2020 6:45AM in Australia) the annual World Club Challenge will take place between the Super League champions St.Helens and the NRL premiers the Roosters to crow the undisputed Rugby League champions of the world.

This will be St.Helens’ 7th World Club Challenge appearance, previously winning two titles, with the Roosters appearing in their 5th World Club Challenge, winning in all four of their previous World Club Challenge games.

The World Club Challenge was established in 1976, however would not consistently become an annual game until 2000.

Super League and NRL clubs are currently tied for World Club Challenges victories, with both leagues having 13th triumphs each, however the tournament has been much more one sided in recent years, with NRL clubs winning eight of the ten Word Club Challenge games played last decade.

The back to back NRL premiers the Roosters will come into this one as clear favourites, however they will arguably go up against one of, if not the best St.Helens lineup we have seen in a very long time.

Luke Thompson, Alex Walmsley, Theo Fages, John Lomax and Regan Grace are just a few of St.Helens’ stars who will be looking to prevent the Roosters winning back to back World Club Challenge titles.

However, we can’t forget to mention the stars the Roosters will have on show being reigning Dally M Medallist James Tedesco, Luke Keary, Jared Warea-Hargreaves and Mitchell Aubusson to name a few.

This game will surely go down as one of the best World Club Challenges in recent history.

Who do you think will win the World Club Challenge?
88 answers

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo