The NRLW must be improved

28 Feb 20, 6:11PM 2 Comments

Written by Oliver Kellner-Dunk

Photo by Getty Images

As things stand the NRLW is made up of four teams (Broncos, Dragons, Roosters, Warriors) that all play each other once with the competition commencing at the start of the NRL Finals series. The top two teams then face off on NRL Grand Final day to determine the NRLW champions.

However, this current setup really doesn’t allow the winner to prove their dominance as the competition winner only has to win four games.

There are a couple of ways in which the women’s game could be improved.

The first being by adding more teams, preferably one or two per season. This way the talent pool in the relatively new version of the game isn’t overly diluted and it will allow for more games to be played.

Another way the game can be enhanced is much easier. Simply have each team play each other twice before the Grand Final, therefore, allowing the best teams to further prove they are deserving of the premiership.

The female athletes of our game have certainly displayed on the field that they have plenty to offer, however, if the league wants to sustain and increase its popularity then changes need to be made.

discussion on “The NRLW must be improved”

2 responses to “The NRLW must be improved”

  1. Rod Cross says:

    They are taking the cautious approach with regard to expansion and maybe rightly so but hopefully in the next couple of years they’ll put a couple more teams in the mix.

    Definitely need to extend their season though so they’re playing each other twice…ASAP.

  2. William King says:

    you need to do some research before sprouting outdated information. While the 2020 competition will still only have 4 teams the season will consist of 6 rounds instead of 3.
    Also the 2021 NRLW season will be expanded to include at least 2 more teams.

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo