The Sky’s the Limit for Tonga

01 Feb 20, 4:16PM 0 Comments

Written by Oliver Kellner-Dunk

Photo by Getty Images

2020 will mark the three year anniversary of Jason Taumalolo and Andrew Fifita pledging their allegiance to the Tongan National team and arguably changing the International game forever.

Since this occurred Tonga have gone on to do great things that just three short years ago we thought would never be possible, including making the 2017 Rugby League World Cup semi-final, with their game against England going down to the wire and more recently becoming the first tier-two nation to ever beat Australia.

The Tongan bandwagon continues to grow, with the side now proving a serious threat to take out the Rugby League World Cup in 2021, especially with Israel Folau’s return to Rugby League.

Although he is yet to do so, Folau is eligible to play for Tonga and will likely do so at some point this year, possibly even in the 2021 Rugby League World Cup, as Australia does tend to refrain from selecting Super League players, meaning the former Australian dual International may not have a choice if he wants to partake in the tournament.

A Tongan national team with the added talent of an Israel Folau would undoubtedly be a contender for the next World Cup and could possibly look like this:

1- Will Hopoate
2- Israel Folau
3- Michael Jennings
4- Konrad Hurrell
5- Daniel Tupou
6- Tuimoala Lolohea
7- Ata Hingano
8- Andrew Fifita
9- Siliva Havili/Manase Fainu
10- Siosiua Taukeiaho (c)
11- Manu Ma’u
12- Ben Murdoch-Masila
13- Jason Taumalolo

14- Kotoni Staggs
15- Tevita Pangai Jr.
16- Joe Ofahenaue
17- Tevita Tatola

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo