Toulouse confirmed winners of Betfred Championship League Leaders’ Shield

08 Sep 21, 6:34AM 0 Comments

Written by Rugby Football League

Toulouse Olympique will be presented with the Betfred Championship League Leaders’ Shield after their last fixture of the regular season, at Newcastle Thunder on Saturday September 18 โ€“ completing an historic double for French Rugby League following Catalans Dragons’ equivalent achievement in the Betfred Super League.

Toulouse have a 100% record from the 13 fixtures they have played this season, all in England, and the postponement of this weekend’s scheduled home fixture against York City Knights under the Covid Fixture Protocols means that they cannot be overtaken on win points percentage.

That also guarantees them a bye through the first round of the Betfred Championship Play-Offs and home advantage in the second round โ€“ and the RFL can today confirm that their Semi Final will be played at the Stade Ernest Wallon on Saturday October 2, with a 415pm kick-off local time (315pm BST).

Featherstone Rovers, who are now guaranteed to finish second in the table whatever the results of their remaining two league fixtures and have therefore also earned a bye through the first round of the Play-Offs, will host the second Betfred Championship Semi Final at their Millennium Stadium later that afternoon (5.30pm Kick-off BST).

Sky Sports will show all FIVE matches in this yearโ€™s Betfred Championship Play-Offs, culminating in the Million Pound Game on Sunday October 10 which will determine promotion to the 2022 Betfred Super League (6pm Kick-off BST).

Their coverage will begin on Saturday September 25, with two Elimination Play-Offs between the teams who finish third, fourth, fifth and sixth in the Betfred Championship table.

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo