Waitemata Seagulls crowned SAS Sharman Cup champions

16 Aug 21, 1:04PM 0 Comments

Written by Auckland Rugby League

Photo by Waitemata Seagulls

A big second-half comeback saw Waitemata Seagulls outscore Papatoetoe 16 points to six to claim the SAS Sharman Cup title with a 26-16 Grand Final victory on Saturday afternoon.

After struggling through the opening stanza and scoring just one try, Waitemata trailed 10-4 at the break before turning things around in the second 40 minutes.

After locking scores early in the second spell the Seagulls ran in three consecutive tries and wrestled momentum back in their favour, with Gage Cash at the forefront.

But the result was far from secured, and victory looked in doubt when Waitemata Seagulls had a pair of players sent to the bin inside the final 10 minutes, forcing them to finish the game with 11 men.

In the end the west Aucklanders held on to claim the third division title 26-16.

*Waitemata Seagulls Rugby League club was formed in 1967. The club prides itself on abe able to establish and build strong relationships within the wider Ranui community making it a safe, sustainable and successful place for all rangatahi to succeed not only in rugby league but also in life. The club continues to grow from strength to strength, as do all of its talented young men and women.

Always seeking success – Mighty Seagulls flying high!

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo