Media Release

Wales face Ireland in historic Women’s Rugby League International

17 Oct 21, 1:01PM 0 Comments

Wales face Ireland in a historic women’s international today at Stadium ZipWorld, Colwyn Bay (kick off 2.30pm local time). It will be the first home encounter for the Welsh and an inaugural outing for the Irish.

Wales women include five new caps, and head coach Thomas Brindle commented: “We’re really excited for another historic occasion. We’ve learned a lot since our first outing, and know the areas that we need to work on. We know it’ll be competitive and that Ireland are working hard to establish themselves and that prospect is exciting for women’s international rugby league. A number of players, will be making their international debut, most of whom have come through the Cardiff Demons, which is great testament to the wider work which is being done across Wales at the moment.”

Inaugural Irish Women’s national head coach, John Whalley, said: “I’m looking forward to what promises to be an entertaining international match, I want to thank Wales for hosting us in our first-ever fixture. I am very grateful and excited to be part of history. This group has come together naturally over the past few months, with the help and vision of the RLI Board and assisted by Sport Ireland.”

His side includes Philippa Birchall who won the women’s Super League Grand Final with St Helens last weekend.


Ffion Jenkins*, Ffion Jones*, Sara Jones, Eleri Michael (Bridgend Blue Bulls/Cardiff Demons), Leanne Burnell, Seren Gough-Walters, Charlie Mundy, Rafiuke Taylor (Cardiff Blue Dragons/Cardiff Demons), Emily Hughes, Kathryn Salter (London Broncos), Bryonie King*, Ffion Lewis, Leanna Maybank*, Joeann McGuire, Lowri Norkett, Molly Reardon* (Rhondda Outlaws / Cardiff Demons), Rebecca Davies*, Keira McCosh (Warrington Wolves / North Wales Origin), Carys Marsh (Wigan Warriors)

*Denotes uncapped


Philippa Birchall (St Helens), Steph Carroll (Dublin City Exiles), Storm Cobain (Bedford Tigers), Erin Coll (Dublin City Exiles), Francessca Copley (Featherstone Rovers), Paige Costello (Wigan Warriors), Clodagh Dunne (Dublin City Exiles), Stacey Greenwood (Wigan Warriors), Stacy Hanley (Galway Tribeswomen), Bethany Lambert (York City Knights), Ray Lawless (Dublin City Exiles), Roisin Crowe (Dublin City Exiles), Sarah Lovejoy (Leigh Miners Rangers), Iona McCusker (London Broncos), Alex McGuinness (Dublin City Exiles), Amy O’Neill (Dublin City Exiles), Syphonia Pua (Dublin City Exiles), Mairead Quinn (Leigh Miners Rangers), Aimee Wood (Wigan Warriors).

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo