World Cup

‘We are going to win the World Cup’: Radley on England

29 Oct 22, 4:14PM 0 Comments

Written by Oliver Kellner-Dunk

Photo by Getty Images

England has surprised many punters so far at the Rugby League World Cup.

Despite being the hosts of this year’s tournament Shaun Wane’s side wasn’t considered a major contender to win the World Cup.

However, they were the only team to qualify for the knockout stages after two group-stage games, upsetting Samoa in an astonishing display 60-6.

They then backed up their amazing effort against Samoa with a 42-18 win over neighbouring nation France, who will be hosting the World Cup in 2025.

England were given a huge boost before the tournament when RL premiership winner Victor Radley pledged his allegiance to the Three Lions.

Radley made the decision to represent England for his father Nigel who was born in Sheffield.

In a recent interview with Brad Walter for the NRL’s official website Radley spoke about his confidence in England going all the way and winning the World Cup.

“I’ve loved the fans, the crowds, the noise and the weather,” said Radley.

“As much as people might laugh, it has been good here the last month.

“It’s not too cold and it’s not been raining.

“It has blown me away how tough they are and how fast they all move.

“Everyone at training just goes so hard and they don’t stop.

“The whole team has been so strong mentally and physically and that is why I think we are going to win the World Cup.

“We have had two wins out of two games, but we have got to keep working hard and go and win the World Cup.

“I really believe we can do it.”

England will face Greece in their final group-stage game and are heavy favourites to win and move on to the quarter-finals undefeated.

As long as all of the favourites win their final game before the knockout stage, England will face Papua New Guinea in the quarter-finals in Wigan but could mathematically also end up versing Tonga or the Cook Islands.

England has never won the World Cup as a stand-alone nation but last won the tournament as Great Britain in 1972 where they drew with Australia in the final but we’re deemed winners as they finished on top of the group stage table.

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo