Will the Roosters get their three-peat in 2020?

11 Feb 20, 6:10PM 0 Comments

Written by Oliver Kellner-Dunk

Photo by Getty Images

The Sydney Roosters made history in 2019, being the first team in 26 years to win back-to-back premierships, however they have the opportunity to make even more history in 2020, with the possibility of being the first team in 37 years to win three straight premierships.

Questions have been asked over the Roosters ability to do this though, especially with the exit of star players Cooper Cronk and Latrell Mitchell.

However, the 2020 Roosters will still have 2019 Dally M Player of the Year James Tedesco, proven game controller Luke Keary and an imposing forward pack that includes the likes of Jared Warea-Hargreaves. Sio Siua Taukeiaho, Mitchell Aubusson and Victor Radley to make a few.

Not to mention the new signing of promising young halfback Kyle Flanagan, who has been compared to Cronk in the past in terms of his play style, which would suggest he’d fit in at the Roosters nicely.

We also have to mention the Sydney Roosters coach Trent Robinson, simply a mastermind that certainly knows how to coach a top side, is heading into his eighth season as Roosters head coach, only having missed the finals once, winning four minor premierships and three NRL premierships.

However, we mustn’t forget about the other contenders who could dethrone the Roosters, with the Storm, Sea Eagles, Eels, Rabbitohs and Raiders all seemingly like serious contenders to the premiership heading into the 2020 season.

While it is far from impossible for the Roosters to win the three-peat, it certainly won’t be easy.

Will the Roosters win their third consecutive Premiership?
131 answers

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo