Yorkshire and Lancashire ready for Roses clash

04 Aug 21, 8:31AM 0 Comments

Written by Rugby Football League

Yorkshire and Lancashire have named 20-player squads ahead of the Origin Academy game at Weetwood Hall in Leeds.

The behind-closed-doors fixture will be streamed live on Our League from 11am and will feature many of the game’s future stars, several of whom already have first team experience.

Academy Origin is part of the talent pathway between club academy competition and full England Academy selection. In recent times Academy Origin players have made rapid strides in the senior game, such as St Helens’ Jack Welsby and Wigan Warriors’ Umyla Hanley who both scored eye-catching hat-tricks in their side’s latest Betfred Super League games.

The sides will be coached by Danny Wilson (Yorkshire) and Shane Eccles (Lancashire).

OurLeague banner

Yorkshire’s coach Danny Wilson says: “These players missed out on a season’s worth of development during the pandemic, so this game is an important step in making up for lost time. I’m really excited about their potential and how far some of them might progress in Rugby League.”

Lancashire coach Shane Eccles adds: “The players have prepared well and are raring to go. Like Danny I’m grateful to their clubs for working with us to get this game on. They’ll do their clubs proud and hopefully we’ll get the win.”

Yorkshire squad

Denive Balmforth (Warrington Wolves), Lewis Camden (Bradford Bulls), Alfie Edgell, Levi Edwards, Oliver Field, Will Gatus (all Leeds Rhinos), Alex Gibson (Hull FC), Joe Hird (Leeds Rhinos), Jacob Hookem, Davy Litten (both Hull FC), Connor Moore (Hull Kingston Rovers), Matty Nicholson (Wigan Warriors), Tom Nicholson-Watton (Leeds Rhinos), Pat O’Donovan (Wakefield Trinity), Euan Parke (London Broncos), Jason Qareqare (Castleford Tigers), Kieran Rush (Huddersfield Giants), Isaac Shaw (Wakefield Trinity), Max Simpson (Leeds Rhinos), Nick Staveley (Hull FC).

Lancashire squad

Jake Anderson (Newcastle Thunder), Cole Appleby (St Helens), Logan Astley (Wigan Warriors), Luke Broadbent, Jack Darbyshire (both Warrington Wolves), George Delaney (St Helens), Zach Eckersley, Tom Forber (both Wigan Warriors), Daniel Ganson (St Helens), Leon Hayes (Warrington Wolves), Sam Haynes (St Helens), Tom Horton-Burnett (Warrington Wolves), Ben Lane (St Helens), Harvey Makin, Junior Nsemba (both Wigan Warriors), Taylor Pemberton (St Helens), Fenton Rogers (Huddersfield Giants), Alex Sutton (Wigan Warriors), Luke Thomas (Warrington Wolves), Tom Whitehead (Warrington Wolves).

Weetwood Covid protocols mean that no spectators will be allowed to attend.

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo