World Cup

Rugby League World Cup 2021 Official Statement

29 Jul 21, 9:24AM 0 Comments

The Rugby League World Cup 2021 (RLWC2021) Board has held another emergency meeting. While the Board reiterated the determination to deliver the biggest and best ever Rugby League World Cup in history, they are also realistic about the significant challenges that threaten that ambition.

In light of the decision by the ARLC and NZRL to withdraw from the event, the Board have instructed the RLWC2021 team to continue to hold further urgent discussions with all stakeholders, particularly the players, aimed at correcting misinformation as well as measuring the sentiment on proceeding with the tournament.

The RLWC2021 Board recognise the need to bring clarity and certainty to the situation. They have also underlined the relentless work that has been taking place to establish the safest and secure environment for all involved – in line with other world-class major events that have taken place successfully in the UK in 2021.

RLWC will have these conversations as soon as possible and are currently in dialogue with:

The UK government on a regular basis whose support has been invaluable

The players on the extraordinary measures we will implement to protect their wellbeing during the event

The competing nations to fully understand any new or developing issues that will prevent them travelling to
England in October

The eighteen dedicated host towns and cities as well as the twenty-one world class venues that will stage
RLWC2021 matches

The IRL on the implications of the decision made by the ARLC and NZRL and replacement teams

We place on record our sincere thanks for the understanding of the hundreds of thousands of fans who are planning to attend the tournament, as well as our loyal commercial and broadcast partners who have been so supportive during this challenging time.

Be the first to comment on this article

Make a comment...

Our Valued Partners

European Championship logo X-league rugby league logo Cleveland Rugby League Brasil Rugby League Latin Heat Rugby League Logo Ghana Rugby League Serbia Rugby League Canada Rugby League Norway Rugby League Russian Rugby League Cameroon Rugby League Malta Rugby League Nigeria Rugby League Logo